Wired To Hunt


Doe Bleats: A Must Have in Your Arsenal

AttentionWired To Hunt has moved to WiredToHunt.com. Come check out the new site!

At about 9:30, with the rays of the morning  sun peeking through the tree limbs, I saw the tell tale flash of white out of the corner of my eye. About 75 yards away from me, on the edge of my woodlot and a corn field, I saw a tall racked 6 point buck cruising with a stiff legged gait and his nose to the ground. I immediately grabbed my doe in estrus bleat can and gave it a couple turns. The 2 1/2 year old buck immediately stopped, swiveled and looked straight at me. After a moments consideration he began walking again and came directly in towards my stand. That buck took a B-line to within about 20 yards of my stand, but unfortunatly because he was behind thick cover, I was unable to get a shot. None the less, this is a perfect example of the impressive evidence of how doe in estrus bleats can bring love sick bucks into shooting range. Over the years this has been my most consistent call, and it seems to work well regardless of what phase of the rut you are in.

Here is a quick video from Field & Stream, demonstrating the proper way to use these estrus bleat can calls. I highly recommend watching this, and trying it out in the field next time you have the chance. I definitely will have my can handy when I hit the woods this Friday. Good luck hunting!

This video was produced and hosted by Peter Fiduccia, the Deer Doctor. You can learn more by visiting his website www.deerdoctor.com

For some more great insight into using doe in estrus bleats, check out this article from Deer & Deer Hunting contributor, Dan Schmidt. Click Here.

Don’t forget to check out the Deer & Deer Hunting Forums to  keep up to date on the latest in deer hunting news and to get involved in some great discussions about deer hunting tips and tactics. Check it out here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The video you included in your article is hosted by me for F&S. I would be happy to provide a similar video to be used on the D&DH website as well.
I would also be interested in provding Dan with a feature four part article on using deer calls including all the sub-candences of the primary grunt, adult blat (often incorrectly reffered to as a bleat), the fawn bleat and the most misunderstood and misused deer vocalization – the primary snort and all its sub-sounds.

Thank you,
Peter Fiduccia
Host/Publisher Woods N’ Water T.V. Series & Press
P- 607-548-4011/4012
F- 607-5484013
peter@fiduccia.com
http://www.deerdoctor.com

Comment by Peter Fiduccia

pleased to know you sir i have your book my problem is i found 3 rubs a100 yards away i found 35 or so close together and then i herd a thump like a deer tripping over a rock or leaping to his feet so the next day i get clever i sneak around the backside of the hill sitting there listening quietley and here anoise that sounds like a deer banging his horns off a tree doyou think hes there eluding me these rubs arent very old appreciate your comment thanks jethro

Comment by jethro mckinney




Leave a Reply

